Who is it that is doing the thinking when we think?

This might sound like a silly question. We have looked at the feeling, thinking and intention that takes place in our soul and which is expressed in our body but who is thinking, feeling and intending? I hope that you answered “I am”. So what is this I?

Here is a quote from my book, I Connecting : The Soul’s Quest

“We know that each person is an individual with a specific character, a particular make-up, and each person expresses self in the world accordingly. This ‘self’ is the name we call ourselves when we say “I”. The “I”, the self, is the essence of the individual, it is our “I”dentity. Because it is an integral part of us, we often do not notice what it is, or how it works. The “I” is the kernel of our personality which we cannot grasp as we are not able to grasp our right hand with our right hand.

Our “I” enables us to function as beings of soul and spirit, not just as physical beings. Our “I” experiences the world through our soul and body; they are its vehicles. As we have been discussing, this is a developing thing, an evolutionary thing. Our “I” is not a fully conscious part of our being yet. Its connection with our body and soul grows over time; the more it grows, the more conscious we become. Then, the more we are able to have original thoughts and ideas, and also to be flexible about our thoughts and ideas. We could say that meaning originates in the “I”. For instance, when we speak, specifically about something we have thought about ourselves, the meaning from our “I” is expressed through the vocal cords of our body.”

Are you getting a sense of the nature of your “I” from this? It is a strange concept but if we can understand it, even a little bit, we gain a whole new insight into who we are. The thing is, this “I” is part of an evolutionary development which we can see all over the world as people become more and more independent. We could even say that the experience of it lies behind the cause the uprisings in many countries – people who experience their “I” no longer want to be overshadowed by dictators. The experience of the human “I” gives us a sense of equality. It dissolves the differences that come about through race and creed and other physical differences.

Try this simple exercise: Think of all the things that you are and say out loud, “I am a mother, I am a father, I am a man, I am a woman, I am a daughter, I am a son, I am a cook, I am a driver, I am etc. etc. and eventually you will run out of things that describe you and you will be left with saying, I Am!” Note the feeling that this gives you.

For more information about my book please visit www.i-connecting.com

About KristinaK

Personal development author. After years of study and observation I understand that the core elements of our human consciousness are found in the way we feel, think and use our will. Yet we do these unconsciously and automatically much of the time. In all my writing I try to assist with the conscious awareness of these processes. I am also a Huffington Post blogger exploring the hidden meaning of The Bible. I refer to myself as an Esoteric Christian, with no allegiance to any religious denomination.
This entry was posted in Self Awareness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

