How to have the power of the President or Queen.

How often do we feel that we have no power? The media is full of what the so-called powerful people in this world are doing – or not doing. It is only natural that when we read these reports that we should feel insignificant. Yet the opposite is true. Every single human being is more powerful than the president, the prime minister or the queen. More powerful  than the journalist, the rich and the famous. If you don’t believe me then read this quote Goethe http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Johann_Wolfgang_von_Goethe

“I have come to the frightening conclusion that I am the decisive element.
It is my personal approach that creates the climate.
It is my daily mood that makes the weather.
I possess tremendous power to make life miserable or joyous.
I can be a tool of torture or an instrument of inspiration, I can humiliate or humor, hurt or heal.
In all situations, it is my response that decides whether a crisis is escalated or de-escalated, and a person is humanized or de-humanized.
If we treat people as they are, we make them worse.
If we treat people as they ought to be, we help them become what they are capable of becoming.” (There is some contention about who actually said this – be glad if a Goethe student could confirm)
Goethe 1749-1832

One of the best ways to put all this into action is to become aware of what takes place in our soul moment by moment. The activity of our soul is found in our feeling, thinking and will and it is these activities that Goethe is describing.

About KristinaK

Personal development author. After years of study and observation I understand that the core elements of our human consciousness are found in the way we feel, think and use our will. Yet we do these unconsciously and automatically much of the time. In all my writing I try to assist with the conscious awareness of these processes. I am also a Huffington Post blogger exploring the hidden meaning of The Bible. I refer to myself as an Esoteric Christian, with no allegiance to any religious denomination.
This entry was posted in Personal Development, Self Awareness, Self Development and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How to have the power of the President or Queen.

  1. This is so true! Self-observation really helps me get off the merry-go-round. It takes the weight off off, the guilt and the second-guessing. One thing I find very helpful is knowing that I can choose what or how to think about something when it happens. I can either launch into a reaction, or I can choose to see it differently. Really works! Today, I walked right into a metal bar, hit my forehead really hard. I put my hand on it and thought, “How am I going to think about what just happened?” Instead of getting angry and worrying about how big a knot I was going to have, I said to myself, “This is a process of healing. My body is responding immediately to this. I can feel the blood rushing in and taking care of the injury, bringing oxygen, antibodies, etc.” It still hurt, but not that much, and I was dizzy for awhile, but no knot, and it’s not sore. So much suffering is the direct result of how we choose to think about what happens to us. I think this goes hand-in-hand with what you’re talking about. And it’s neat that you bring it up, because I’ve been working on this very thing for a couple of weeks now. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

